The Answer to Mom Guilt

Moms, especially working moms, often struggle with guilt – some of it unfounded and some probably legitimate.  Running between my activities this morning, my mind was spinning thinking about what I needed to do to get kids to/from all the places they needed to be today, ready to leave for our church women’s retreat this afternoon, and fit in a virtual meeting with a student, some other work tasks, and an unexpected dr. appointment to have my foot x-rayed.  I was feeling guilty for skipping my quiet time the last two days, guilty for not having something homemade for my husband and kids to eat while I’m gone, guilty for not exercising today, guilty for not having finished my work to-do’s yesterday, guilty for not returning a friend’s phone call from earlier this week.

And then I caught a few minutes of this sermon on the radio.  And it was a timely reminder that there’s only one real answer and hope for our guilt – Grace.  The amazing grace of the Gospel of Jesus Christ that God lavishes freely upon us, undeserved as we are – once for salvation and repeatedly for sanctification.  Pastor Begg reminded me of the power of that grace in shining hope and expectation on Satan’s accusations that we are not enough.  He quoted a phrase from this song (one of my favorites from church), which I hope you’ll listen to and take hope in today.

When Satan tempts me to despair

And tells me of the guilt within

Upward I look and see Him there

Who made an end to all my sin

Because a sinless Savior died

My sinful soul is counted free

For God the just is satisfied

To look on Him and pardon me

Our only hope is, was, and will be Jesus.  I often joke that I need a few more hours in the day, but the truth is that, if we’re fully relying on Him as our strength, power, and direction, He will turn what we are and what we have into more than enough for His glory.  Be encouraged today in this reminder that His grace is sufficient, friends!

4 thoughts on “The Answer to Mom Guilt

  1. Pingback: Write 31 Days Series: Hope & Help for Working Moms | Serendipity Lately

  2. Anna Smit

    Oh yes, I LOVE this song! Such powerful words….and yes, being a working Mom can make Mommy guilt go into overdrive, although now as a stay-at-home Mom, I am not immune to it either! Praying for a blessed retreat for you.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Love Writes Community | Joy of the Spirit Within

Leave a Reply

